Further reading

Woo-hoo! It’s the end of my impromptu-theme of art books for children. To end it, I thought it might be useful to collate a few more suggestions of art books for kids  / further resources- I know this is something that I want to come back to in the future, and I thought it might be useful for anyone who wanted to do some more research  in the area. I feel like I’ve barely scratched the surface ….!

21 Picture books about art (I love the sound of the touch & feel one about the Mona Lisa!)

Children’s Art Books from The National Gallery

Art books from Usborne (I really love the sound of the ‘My very first art book’ series)

Exploring the great artists – 20+ art books for kids (Features the lovely Katie books here – these are very worth a look). From the same blog, I also enjoyed their piece on arts/crafts –  ‘Exploring the Great Artists’)

Kid’s books and media from the Met – I personally have just added ‘One Blue Hippo’ to my wishlist.

@areaderforlife recommended the following to me on Twitter – https://twitter.com/areaderforlife/status/501321647933358080

I love what Zoe over at “Playing by the book” does with her blog posts – she combines her book reviews with amazing projects on arts, crafts, books, cake … pretty much anything you can think. It’s a constant inspiration (and also a constant joy). Also you need to read this post for an amazing list of artwork in children’s books – “‘The interactive Art book plus 90+ publicly displayed masterpieces of art which feature in children’s books. 

Also – here’s a picture book I reviewed earlier. “Dogs’ Night” by Meredith Hooper.

Let me know if there’s anything amazing that I’ve missed?

 

Published by Daisy May Johnson

I write and research children's books.

2 thoughts on “Further reading

  1. I’m not familiar with this genre (is it a genre? Probably just a subdivision of a Dewey decimal class, the 700s if I remember right); and while I have a few art books they’re not really aimed at the younger reader. Having said which, I do always have a quick peruse of said classification whenever I’m in one of the London Tates, the National or the NPG.

Leave a Reply!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.