Sunday catch up

Hello! Here’s some of the news and articles I came across this week from the world of children’s literature.

1. After reading the excellent and poetic Red Ink (which I then added to my books about bereavement reading list), this article in the Guardian had a lot of relevance for me. In it, the author asks whether young children should go to funerals or not. There’s also some guidance from counselling professionals in the article which is very worth a read should you be struggling with a decision of this nature. Articles and moments like this remind me why I keep my reading lists. It’s in the hope that somehow one of these books may help to mediate a child and a family through one of the darkest of moments and that’s why I keep them. Please do let me know if there’s any titles you would particularly reccommend. You can comment below or, if you’d be more comfortable, email me.

2. On the topic of diversity in children’s and YA literature, here Non Pratt from Catnip Publishing talks about “The Lack of LGBTQ YA in the UK” and here Mark McGlashan argues that LGBT inclusive texts should be utilised in primary schools. I need to look more at McGlashan’s research in order to comment more thoroughly on his findings, but it’s clear to me (and has been for some time) that children deserve a right to see themselves and their familial contexts reflected in our societal literature. I’ll let you know once I’m able to find out more on his findings.

3. Patrick Ness and Shoo Rayner had an epic, articulate and polite discussion on the ‘suitability of YA literature for ‘children”. Rayner’s blog post which sparked it all off is available here and a roundup from the Guardian is available here. I think there’s a world of issues with Rayner’s blogpost and the fact that our adult perspective is nowhere near that as a teenage or child readers. You can’t map your experience of childhood onto todays. However, as with a lot of these things, it is worth taking the time to read these posts and comments and formalising and confirming your own stance of things. If there’s one thing I’ve ever believed regarding children’s literature and the critique of it, it is that you have a voice and your opinion matters.

If you’d like to view other posts in this series, they’re available here. See you next week!

2 thoughts on “Sunday catch up

  1. I thought Rayner had a slight point at first but his follow-up comments and posts, where he claims 12 year olds aren’t children, no books for children are being published any more, and adults only read YA because they’re infantilised just get more and more bizarre!

    • My main issue was that I didn’t and don’t think ‘darkness’ in children’s literature is a new and novel concept, and I’d hope that we’re more concerned about enabling the reader to cope with and manage that darkness and, if it calls for it, manage that darkness in real life, as opposed to not acknowledging that such darkness exists. I hope that sentence made sense! There’s a lot of commas!

Leave a Reply

