Our Moomin Cake

As has become now traditional, my (lovely and amazing) friends and I have an edible book cake party as our way of entering the Edible Book Competition held over at Playing By The Book. This involves me sending everyone a group email with a badly drawn bitmap image and going “IT’S CAKE CLUB TIME” and “WHAT’S THE FIRST RULE OF CAKE CLUB? DON’T TALK ABOUT CAKE CLUB”  This very over-excited email trail ultimately results in me going “BUT DON’T YOU SEE – IT’S XXXX DOING XXXX” ?? And everyone going “Oh. Yeah. Of course. Yeah. Erm. Beautiful day.”

Moomina plan

Badly drawn bitmap image

The plan for this year was Moomins. Everybody loves Moomins. Moomin. I can’t stop writing it. MOOMIN. And our group cake this time was to be Moomins on the beach. I know you understood that from the bitmap, I know you did. Basically I pretty much spent the night in Asda and had to stop myself from opening up all of the biscuit packs to find the one that had the nearest colour reminiscent of sand. There was also a point where I spent practically the whole afternoon at work discussing the best ways to make edible sand. Swimming Moomins we had down, but the sand proved a tad more complicated.

And here’s the final product! We have Moomin Papa sunbathing on the beach (Asda Rich Tea fyi), with a sea of blue frosting and meringue rocks. There’s a near tragic incident occuring in the sea where one of our younger team  members wanted to have a Moomin being attacked by a shark, and Snorkmaiden kind of washing her whole hands (paws?) of the whole affair and swimming off. At the back of the beach is Little My glowering at everybody and paddling in the edge of the surf is the other one who I always forget the name of. Anyway. It involved much merriment, much, ahem, liquid refreshment, and a slightly intense moment when the adults all got a bit obsessed over the sea. I say adults, I mean me (“Don’t touch it! DON’T TOUCH IT”).

I love this competition so much. It’s ace. You should all do it. Because it’s books and cake and discovering that some of your friends have hidden talents in making rocks out of meringues and sculpting angry girls out of marzipan.

The final product!

The final product!

A better angle for all the detail

A better angle for all the detail

3 thoughts on “Our Moomin Cake

  1. Pingback: The Boy Who Fell Into A Book : The Joy of Book-Based Theatre | Did you ever stop to think and forget to start again?

Leave a Reply

