Blanniversary (A Top Five of 2011)

I’ve been doing this blog, properly, for just over a year now. It’s my BLAnniversary! (I do so love an awkward prefix).  Thank you so much if you’ve commented, read or even glanced at one of these posts. To celebrate this auspicious occasion (and to try and gloss over the fact that I forgot to do this back in September which was the proper anniversary) here are my top five posts of 2011.

The influence of children’s literature on adult literature” This was a report of a lecture I attended at the University of Reading back in January. Making friends with your local scholarly community is vital, particularly when you’re a distance learner. The potential to feel isolated is huge and moments like these, when you’re listening to a lecture that makes your mind race with thoughts, are inestimable.

Alain de Botton discussed, in February, why books do not prepare us for love. I had a few thoughts in response.

Proving to be the forerunner of my obsession with how libraries are designed, here’s a few genuinely lovely children’s libraries. And seriously, if you happen to manage Cotsen Children’s Library in Princeton, I will work for you for free and the odd sandwich thrown my way.

Here’s a list of gifted and talented children in children’s literature. It’s not in order (the very early stages of “WHYOHMYGODWHYDOIHAVETOREFERENCEEVERYTHING” disorder kicking in) but it does cover a substantial list of genres and titles. I’ll be returning to this subject in 2012 and hopefully produce some posts with a little more sanity (and a lot less panic).

And finally this was Amanda Waller’s redesign. Still makes me a little sad.

Leave a Reply

