Kidnap in the Caribbean : Lauren St John

Laura Marlin Mysteries 2: Kidnap in the CaribbeanLaura Marlin Mysteries 2: Kidnap in the Caribbean by Lauren St. John

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have a little bit of a problem. I think I’m in love with this series. I thought Dead Man’s Cove was brilliant I’m genuinely pleased to report that Kidnap in the Caribbean is of a similar standard. And, before I get into this, I need to congratulate whoever is designing this series. The dustjacket for Kidnap in the Caribbean is utterly lovely.

The second in the series of Laura Marlin adventures, Kidnap in the Caribbean is a fabulous read. You know it’s good when you just stop everything and just sit down and read solidly because you need to know what happens next. I love Laura, I really do. She’s making me remember the first few days I discovered Buffy. She’s a smart, intelligent heroine that you have no choice to root for because she’s such a brilliant character. She stands, and she fights for what she believes in and that’s a pleasure to read.

I know I’m gushing a little (to be honest, following my Dead Man’s Cove review you should just be relieved I’ve found a synonym for brilliant) but you need to understand how rare this sort of book is. I have a female character that is a) not defined solely by her relationship to a boy and b)is independent, smart and brave. Add to that a James Bond-esque location, an awesome huskey sidekick and some heart-in-the-mouth moments, and you’ve got yourself one heck of a book.

Kidnap in the Caribbean is brilliant.

Ah.

I was doing so well.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Kidnap in the Caribbean : Lauren St John

  1. Hello. I’m thrilled that you’re liking the dust jackets for the Laura Marlin books – I illustrate them (I did the White Giraffe series too) and they’re great fun to work on. Craig Fraser at Orion does all the wonderful type design. Anyway, it’s always nice to get a bit of feedback, and you’ll be pleased to know the next book in the series (out next summer – I’m working on the cover right now) is just as good a read šŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: The One Dollar Horse : Lauren St John « Did you ever stop to think & forget to start again?

  3. Pingback: Kentucky Thriller : Lauren St John | Did you ever stop to think and forget to start again?

Leave a Reply

