A Dog Called Homeless : Sarah Lean

A Dog Called HomelessA Dog Called Homeless by Sarah Lean

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Cally Louise Fisher has seen her mother. Her dead mother. She’s seen her as bright as day but nobody believes her. Callie’s also started to be followed by a huge grey Irish Wolfhound that seems to show up at the strangest of moments. And then, following a sponsored silence, Callie decides to stop speaking. “Talking doesn’t always make things happen, however much you want it to”

I described this book today to somebody as gloriously crystalline. And it is. It is very very perfect in its own way and it has an utterly lovely ending that wasn’t what I was expecting and left me in tears.

Books like these are deceptively simple. A Dog Called Homeless carries an almost lyrical story about friendship and love. It’s about being brave, being a friend, standing up for yourself and, how sometimes saying nothing says more than you could ever imagine.

It’s lovely, and perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and Cathy Cassidy. And, as should be practically mandatory, it features some very gorgeous illustrations of Irish Wolfhounds which are officially the best dogs ever.

Please note that I was given a copy of this book and this review is my honest opinion.

View all my reviews

About these ads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s